Stars and Stripes Hat Band

I love to wear hats!  I have several I’ve practically covered with silk flowers just because I like them.

Stars HatBand on JanMadeIt 14

I got this hat from my brother, David, who died May 7 of this year. It’s a tad big for me, but that cord around the crown threads through the hat to tie under my chin.

Stars HatBand on JanMadeIt 11

That chin strap comes in very handy in the Oklahoma wind.

Stars HatBand on JanMadeIt 08

These are the stars left from my wreath, and the garland I posted last night. This is the kind of holiday hat a man could wear.

Stars HatBand on JanMadeIt 09

To make this hat band, I laid the stars out on the brim of the hat to line them up.

Stars HatBand on JanMadeIt 03

Then with points aligned, I tacked them together with needle and thread.

Stars HatBand oN on JanMadeIt 06

With the fleece fused on the back it was easy to stitch through the backing and hide the stitches.

It doesn’t have to be pretty on the back. And it will be easy to clip those stitches when I want to take it apart and put something else on the hat or do something else with the stars.

Stars HatBand on JanMadeIt 07

I had to match the right size stars and twist them just right to fit in the last opening of the band.

Stars HatBand on JanMadeIt 14

I would totally wear this somewhere, but the only place I’ll be going tomorrow is work.  And if I wore it I’d have hat hair and be stuck wearing it all day, no matter how hot and sweaty it was.

Does everyone have plans for a great Fourth of July? There will be lots of baseball, hot dogs, apple pie and all other things American going on. Be careful with the fireworks!

How do you plan to celebrate?

Jan

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tami
    Jul 05, 2017 @ 08:17:53

    I love straw hats!! How wonderful that you were able to find such a nice way to decorate his hat as almost like a tribute. Your handmade stars are the perfect embellishment. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Jul 05, 2017 @ 09:53:06

      Thanks Tami!
      I also have this thing for hats of all shapes and sizes and I have scads of them! Now I need to decide what to put inside the band of this one to make it just a smidge smaller so I can wear it. Maybe a strip of felt? Or I could crochet a little headband that fits… Hmmmm…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. lyncrain
    Jul 07, 2017 @ 06:39:14

    I love hats, this would work nicely on felt or crocheted hats too! I think crocheted would feel less intrusive and maintain the summer feel of the hat to help it fit better.

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Jul 07, 2017 @ 10:14:38

      Thanks for checking it out! Now that I think of it, I could have crocheted the stars, but I’ve never crocheted a star before. But I do think a crocheted band would fit better and be cooler than felt.
      Jan

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment