It Oughta Be a World Record Afghan

Granny squares can be the easiest, fastest, most tedious, annoying, scrap-busting things you can crochet. They work up fast, and they look great using leftover scraps from previous projects. But there are jillions of tails to be woven in, and then the squares have to be stitched together to make a larger piece. Whew!

I stitched a few large squares together to  make a scarf I call Just Peachy.

Granny Square

But my six or eight little granny squares are not the point of this story.

The 7,800 afghans that were crocheted for charity in Finland in 2011 is what I’m sharing today.

I came across one image of this event, no caption, photo credits, or anything about what was going on with this stairway FULL of afghans.

I googled “old building with afghans on the steps” and got a few hits.

The building is the Helsinki Cathedral. The goal was 1,000 afghans to cover the steps of the cathedral and then donate to charity. They got 7,800 afghans, and only 3,800 would fit on the steps.

Wow!

To those of us who have a thing for fiber and needle arts, there are glaring mistakes in many of these posts. The pictures obviously show crocheted granny square afghans on the steps of this beautiful building. But the headlines variously indicate the project is knitted, it’s a patchwork quilt, or it’s a blanket.

The articles are in Finnish, and the translations are kind of rough so I’m not sure of all the details. I’ll let you follow the links and read for yourselves.

 NOTE:  all these links open in a new tab, so I’ll save your place here if you want to go take a look. 

I looked for a world record about this event, and didn’t find anything. One article clearly says someone was there to certify it, but it would be months before that was determined. This event was nearly eight years ago and the largest crocheted afghan I found was made for Nelson Mandela Day last year and was only 67 afghans.

These Helsinki afghans aren’t actually stitched together. They are connected with cable ties probably just to keep them in place. So if this is a world record I’m not sure what category it would be. If anyone tracks down additional information about it, I’m all ears.

At Joann’s we sell fleece for individuals and groups to make into blankets to donate to all sorts of local agencies. When it’s on sale we can spend thirty minutes–frequently more– cutting fabric for a single customer. There are also knitters and crocheters that do the same, but the only time we notice huge purchases of yarn is at checkout and there’s not usually time for much of a conversation.

People also make scarves for cancer patients, pillowcases for sick children, mittens for Christmas, and even dog scarves for local rescue groups. A bright splash of color around the neck makes a rescue dog so much more appealing and adoptable.

What about you?  Are you involved in some sort of sewing or crafting for charity? What do you make and who do you give it to?

Jan

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brennacrocheter
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 17:16:22

    I’ve done hats for charity and blankets. There are many options for crocheter to give!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Jan
      Jul 09, 2017 @ 23:01:37

      There really are! I just remembered how many people I’ve run across that make hats for newborns. More than once I’ve reduced my stash by passing a bag full of yarn to someone who does.
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Jan

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Meghan @ LuLu's Yarn Art
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 14:48:58

    There really are so many options for crocheting for charity. I like making things for kids at local shelters. “Granny squares can be the easiest, fastest, most tedious, annoying, scrap-busting things you can crochet” is the most accurate statement I have seen for granny squares!

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Jul 10, 2017 @ 22:56:39

      I was telling someone how easy they were and fast to make, and then from a totally different place someone said she hated them because of all the ends to weave in and then I remembered why I stopped making granny squares for awhile. LOL.
      That’s a great idea to make things for kids at shelters.
      Jan

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Tami
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 13:29:00

    Wow thanks for sharing all of these videos!! I love stuff like this! I only watched the first one I need to go watch the rest of them now! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  4. Tami
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 13:35:41

    These were some very interesting articles Jan! When I’m watching tv I always notice the crocheted blankets on the couches. 😀

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Jul 13, 2017 @ 14:12:27

      Tami ~
      There’s just the one video I think, the others are a couple of news articles and then blog posts about it. The last one is the most reliable because she was there. And if you check out her post from the day before you’ll see the afghan she made.
      Thanks for checking it out.
      Jan

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

