Homespun Hearts Part II

In case you’re curious, here’s the backside of the two hearts I posted yesterday. They’re hand-stitched and really so easy a child could make one. In fact one of these would be a perfect gift for a teacher.

Homespun Hearts on JanMadeIt

I used plain muslin for the backsides. That somewhat uneven tan running stitch is how I attached the back to the front. I stitched it right sides together and left the raw edges exposed.  I don’t figure they’ll see a lot of use so I think the raw edges will be OK.

I stuffed it tight. I crammed it with fiberfill and closed it up one stitch at a time.

Homespun Hearts on JanMadeIt

I used white thread and stitched the lace to the front. I stitched along the original seam to reinforce it. When I finished I attached a loop of ribbon for a hangar.

Homespun Hearts on JanMadeIt

I attached the buttons on the front as a final touch. Don’t trim the lace “to fit” until you stitch it on. You’ll have to gather and pleat the lace around the curves and corners, so don’t trim it until you get it all attached.

That’s all there is to it.

Enjoy.

Jan

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Homespun Hearts | Jan Made It
  2. yarnandpencil
    Jan 10, 2018 @ 04:52:56

    These are charming Jan. A good use for all the vintage lace I have acquired 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment