Homespun Hearts

How’s this for stash management?

I made these hearts with scraps of home decorating fabric, wedding lace, and vintage buttons. I even stitched them by hand. Whipped them up in an evening during a few hours of TV.

They would be nice on a Christmas tree, but alas, they did not get that far. They are still hanging where I left them just after I took these pictures.

Two Scrappy Shabby Hearts on JanMadeIt

I’d had this scrap of cotton lace forever. The way the ends were unraveling I tend to think it was handmade. It was only about 15-ish inches long so it was never enough to do anything with until now. I think I have about three inches left. It’s still in my stash.

Homespun Hearts on JanMadeIt

I changed the shape for this heart of sturdy upholstery cotton. I paired it with a delicate lace, which appears to be machine-made. I have no idea what kind it is.

I finished off both hearts with a few vintage Mother-of-pearl buttons. I love sorting through my button boxes.

Homespun Hearts on JanMadeIt

Both hearts have satin ribbon ties for hanging on a tree, or a door knob, or anywhere you think they’d be cute.  You could fill them with lavender and make a sachet to put in a drawer or hang in the closet. You could also fill them with rice and after a zap in the microwave keep them in a pocket to warm your hands in this crazy cold winter.

So I didn’t make much of a dent in my stash, but I didn’t buy anything to make these either. I probably have enough fabric and random lace to make a dozen or more of these.  And of course they’d all be different. They would be part of a very pretty rustic farmhouse holiday style.

They could also tag a Valentine’s day gift, adorn a flower arrangement, or hang from a wreath. Put a little pocket on the back and they could be the package for a very small Valentine’s gift.

Any other ideas on how to put these to use?

I could make some templates if anyone wants them, but these are pretty easy to make freehand. Do it just like in grade school. Fold the fabric in half and then cut a curve around it . You can even practice with paper first if it makes you feel better. And then you can use that paper for a pattern if you like it.

Easy peasy.

Hope you’re all staying warm.

Jan

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Jan 09, 2018 @ 15:22:46

    These are so lovely! You’ve made it sound so easy too. Perfect for drawer and wardrobe liners I think. They could also be used under your pillow filled with a scent to help you sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Jan
      Jan 09, 2018 @ 23:08:10

      Thanks, Catherine.
      I agree. I have some lavender in the freezer but didn’t think of it until I had these all stitched up. I guess I’ll have to make a few more.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Jan

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Tami
    Jan 09, 2018 @ 17:57:25

    These are lovely Jan!! I love the way that the lace looks against the plaid. Country romance!!! My first thought was to use them as sachets. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Jan
      Jan 09, 2018 @ 23:21:16

      Thanks Tami,
      I agree. I started them with Christmas ornaments in mind (it was back in November) but they do look like they should smell good. I will be making more.
      And the phrase Country Romance really seems to fit.
      Thanks,
      Jan

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Homespun Hearts Part II | Jan Made It
  4. swimqween
    Jan 10, 2018 @ 20:38:02

    Hi aunt jan it is riley
    You are sew creative😜. They are so cute.
    Love you see you soon I hope

    PS, get it I said sew instead of so

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Jan
    Jan 11, 2018 @ 10:20:45

    You’re a very clever girl, Riley! This is something you girls could make, easy peasy!
    Love you! (and Avery too!)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment