Build a Birdbath

I came across a sturdy wooden bench with a crumbling seat a few months ago.

Bar Stool becomes a birdbath on JanMadeIt

I thought I might turn it into a table or a lamp or something when I came across a few bird bath tutorials and decided that’s what I needed too.

Bar Stool becomes a birdbath on JanMadeIt

I painted it a soft yellow and found a shallow tray to use as the bath. I’m looking for a deeper, larger bowl but this let me get it set up right away. And when I filled it with water I was able to see how to adjust it to get it level. If it works in this location I’ll gather up some of my flagstones and get the feet off the bare ground.

Bar Stool becomes a birdbath on JanMadeIt

Instead of attaching the bowl to the stool I weighted it down with some native Oklahoma rose rocks. So far it’s working.

I have a couple of cats—Sundance and Cait Sith—that go in and out, but they don’t seem to care much about the mockingbirds that hang out here. I wanted to be sure they won’t be jumping on this and knocking the whole thing over before I made it more permanent.

Turns out there are a couple of insistent starts of Sweet Autumn Clematis near the base of my bird bath. It should hide the legs of this nicely by next summer.

Here are a couple of the images that inspired me with this project: this garbage can bird bath at Funky Junk Interiors, and a step-ladder bird bath from Eclectically Vintage.

Now I’m seeing bird bath potential everywhere! What about you? Do you have something fun you could repurpose into a bird bath?

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Surprise! The Red Spider Lilies Are In Bloom | Cottonmouth Creek
  2. Kelly @ Eclectically Vintage
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 11:35:54

    Those rose rocks are gorgeous – the birds will be flocking to your bath!
    Kelly

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Sep 27, 2012 @ 11:49:36

      Kelly,
      I hope so! Right after I installed it a mockingbird dropped down toward it and then stopped short and seemed to grab for the branch above. He paced on that branch forever trying to figure out what was going on. It’s kind of exposed now, but I expect them to visit when they get used to it and when the vines make it look a bit more natural.
      Thanks for checking me out!
      Jan

      Like

      Reply

  3. Randi
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 13:47:44

    Really cool, Jan. I made a birdbath from a concrete statue of a cherub on a column, which may have been a birdbath base originally or a planter, and then I set a Red Wing shallow bowl on top. It’s worked well and attracted lots of butterflies and birds.

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Sep 27, 2012 @ 14:15:21

      Thanks Randi! I can see this out my kitchen window and I’ve been on the lookout for the Monarchs to stop for a drink.
      Jan

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

