A Garland of Stars and Stripes

Here’s another take on the stars I’ve been making.  This very simple banner would be a fun addition to a child’s bedroom, bathroom or kids playroom. Hang in a window, over a door or a mirror or on a mantle.

Stars Banner 01 JanMadeIt

It’s lightweight and wouldn’t make much of a showing outside over a picnic table, at least not here in Oklahoma where the wind is never not blowing.

Stars Banner 03 JanMadeIt

It’s just a section of rick rack and some of the stars I’ve been cutting out the last few weeks. Check out my wreath and follow-up post. I pinned it all to a cork board to be sure I was pleased with the arrangement before I put it all together.

Stars Banner 04 JanMadeItThe rick rack–it could be twine, ribbon, or jute–is about four-feet long. That’s a decent length to adorn a regular width doorway.

Stars Banner 02 JanMadeIt

I’ll tack the stars to the rick rack, but I think staples would also work.  After I attach some stars I’ll let it hang free to be sure it’s balanced. Then I’ll continue adding stars until I think it’s done.

Stars Banner 06 JanMadeIt

Do you decorate for the holiday?  Or do you just decorate if the festivities are at your house?

Everyone be safe and have a glorious Fourth of July.

Jan

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brennacrocheter
    Jul 03, 2017 @ 08:35:06

    Very cute!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Stars and Stripes Hat Band | Jan Made It
    • Jan
      Jul 05, 2017 @ 08:10:17

      Tami ~ I’m not a decorator either. In fact putting the wreaths on my door this year is the first time I’ve ever done any holiday decorating outside of Christmas. But I was challenged by the idea of using the same Styrofoam wreath form to make a different wreath for every season this year, and I had leftover stars… Gotta do something with them. They’ll go in a box in a few weeks to wait for the next project.
      But talk about the “last minute.” It’s now after the 4th and too soon for Back-to-School, so I need to come up with something summery to put up for the next 5-6 weeks. We’ll see if I pull it off.
      Jan

      Like

      Reply

  3. Tami
    Jul 05, 2017 @ 07:06:09

    So patriotically festive Jan!! I don’t usually decorate much for the holidays. Mostly because they sneak up on me, so by the time I remember it’s already the actual day!! 😀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

