Updated Stars and Stripes Wreath

My Stars and Stripes wreath had been hanging maybe ten days and I realized the stars needed some reinforcement. WreathStars 03

The stars, especially at the top, were starting to flop over. So, as I sort of expected, they needed the heavy craft stabilizer. Fortunately I had some on hand.

So I took the three floppiest stars off the wreath and laid them out on the stabilizer.

WreathStars 01

Once again, I put my Teflon pressing sheet on top of the stars and fused the stars to the stabilizer.

WreathStars 06

Then I cut them out with very sharp scissors.  I cut all the angles from point into the center because the stabilizer was too stiff to pivot the blades at that corner.

I also did my best to bevel the stabilizer, undercutting it so it would be less obvious from the front.

WreathStars 08

From the side, the thick white stabilizer is visible. A matching Sharpie could be used to make it less obvious.

And you can see what a difference it makes. The white fabric print and the blue and the red are the stars I reinforced. The red star on the left of the photo, and the blue star on the lower right. are still floppy. I didn’t have time to do all of them, mostly because, as casual as it looks, it’s takes time to mix and match the stars to look just right on the wreath.

WreathStars 10

Now that I know it does what I want it to, I’ll take time to apply it to all the stars.

WreathStars 09

With the sturdier stars they could easily be tacked to a ribbon or cord and become a garland. They could also be attached to a hair clip, headband or ponytail holder to brighten up a patriotic outfit.

I can think of at least a half-dozen ways to use a stack of red, white and blue stars. How would you use them?

Do you have plans for a holiday party or picnic?  How will you decorate for the event?

I don’t think I have anywhere to hang it, but I’d really like to make a stars and stripes garland.  I’ll let you know if I get it done.

Jan

PS – Looking forward to my next wreath, which I plan to get done by August.  Stay tuned.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tami
    Jun 26, 2017 @ 07:35:02

    Good job fixing up those floppy stars Jan!! We will be powerwashing and restaining our deck for the holiday! I’m pretty sure a cold beer or two will be included in the deck refinish holiday activities! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: A Garland of Stars and Stripes | Jan Made It
  3. Trackback: Which Witch is in the Wreath? | Jan Made It

Leave a Reply

