Crocheted Nested Baskets

Here are a couple of small baskets I crocheted recently.

Crcocheted Baskets on JanMadeIt

I work at JoAnn’s Fabric and Crafts and when our crochet and knitting teacher abruptly left we had students signed up for the beginning How-to class and I was drafted. I am by no means an expert, but I can teach you how to do it and then we can go from there.

I’ll be teaching these baskets on Tuesday. It’s a simple project, and I made the small basket in just a little over an hour.

Crocheted Baskets on JanMadeIt

The instructions (provided by JoAnn’s) call for a chunky yarn with a hook smaller than suggested for this yarn. The construction is very easy. After you get the base the size you want, crochet the next row in the back loop, then continue as usual until the basket is as tall as you want it. That back loop stitch is all it takes to make the turn and create the sides of the basket. If you’re new to this technique, I’d advise starting with a lighter yarn. It was hard to find the back loop on some stitches in this dark yarn.

The larger basket is about four inches tall and a little bit wider.  The smaller basket nests neatly inside.  It’s about three inches across.

One other suggestion for basket making.  Stitch markers.

If I don’t use them I make a basket that’s wider at the top than the bottom. When I put a stitch marker at the beginning of the row I was able to keep the sides straight.

Crocheted Baskets 3

That’s all there is to it. We’ll see how things go in class on Tuesday. I have some tan chunky yarn that will match these that I’ll use for my project in class. The class is three hours long, and we should be able to finish at least one basket.

There’s so much you can do with a crocheted basket when you get the technique down. It can be a basket, a pet bed, add a handle and it’s a bag, line it and make a little trash bag for the car… what else?

Anybody have other suggestions for crocheted basket making that I haven’t come up with yet? And what do you want to use it for?

Jan

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tami
    May 07, 2017 @ 16:34:53

    Jan I love these baskets and let me just say – you have my dream job!! Except I would need to get a second job because I would spend my entire paycheck every week buying yarn and other craft supplies!!! 😀

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      May 07, 2017 @ 19:16:55

      Yes, Tami, sometimes it’s a challenge, but it’s teaching me self-control At least sometimes I have self-control. I really like talking to people about all their projects, which just adds more to my list of things to do.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

