What is this curved piece used for?

My mom participates in activities at the senior citizen’s center and it’s not unusual for some of the folks to bring in random things to share when they move or downsize. Lots of books, art supplies, plant cuttings, and fabrics make their way to the table out front. Not long ago mom brought home a stash of quilting leftovers. In amongst the scraps she found some already cut quilt pieces.

And there’s one we can’t figure out.

Unknown Quilt Pieces on Jan Made It

She’s already made two quilts (that I know of) from rescued already-cut quilt pieces. This blue and pink is twin sized. The solid blue and floral print rectangles were rescued and she pulled the pink out of her stash for the border.

Rescue Quilt Blue and Pink

This print fabric is from the 70s or 80s and coincidentally it’s a fabric she’d used before. She tracked down her own scraps to cut an extra piece or two. I think I suggested the saw tooth edge. It’s one of my favorite borders, but there wasn’t enough to go all the way around so it’s just on the sides.

More recently she took a pile of squares we found and came up with this.

Rescue Quilt on Jan Made It
These fabrics are more recent, maybe ten years ago?, and I had some of this collection in my stash. It’s a double size quilt.

But back to this recent find. There were stacks and stacks of diamonds in a variety of calicoes. And there was a smaller batch of a curved piece.

Unknown Quilt Pieces on Jan Made It

Now there are lots of things to do with a pile of diamonds: make stars, stitch them end to end into rows, assemble a V pattern make rows of chevron; but we’re having a hard time with the curved piece. We tried to fit the curved piece and the diamond together, but the angles and edges don’t fit together.

Any idea what quilt pattern this piece makes? Does it go together to make a circle? Or maybe every other one flips and makes a snake-like row? Is it all pieced together to make a block, or is it stitched to a block like an applique?

Unknown Quilt Pieces on Jan Made It

I’m sure Mom will come up with something great once she wraps her head around these curves. I’m the one who wants to know what it was cut for.  I haven’t found an index of quilt pieces and what they’re used for, but surely there’s a quilter out there who can help.

Any ideas? And what would you make out of it

Jan

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tami
    Apr 19, 2017 @ 15:17:56

    I love the fabric Jan, but sadly, quilting is one of the great mysteries of life that is completely outside of any skill set I have. It will be interesting to see what all of the quilters come up with! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Jan
      Apr 19, 2017 @ 16:26:20

      Tami ~ I don’t believe for a minute that quilting is outside your skill set. If you get a itch to try it, let me know. I could probably send you a box of scraps to get started!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Tami
        Apr 19, 2017 @ 17:23:44

        Well I do have a little sewing machine – I’m not entirely sure how to use it. I tell you Jan, the more I see everyone elses’ gorgeous quilting the more I’m interested in learning. But first I need to read the manual that came with the machine!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jan
    Apr 19, 2017 @ 19:18:03

    If you can drive, you can sew. And there are youTube videos for anything you want to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Vyvyan Wormwood
    Apr 22, 2017 @ 13:33:44

    I really like the pattern on the rounded pieces. Very summery. It would make an interesting light-ish quilt for summer (if that’s possible?). You could do so many different things with it. I’ve seen quilts that kind of snake along. Maybe it’s like that?

    lots of love,
    -Vyv

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Apr 22, 2017 @ 19:08:22

      I like the snake idea too, but that makes curves on every side! Eek. Thanks for checking it out and I’ll share what it turns out to be.
      Jan

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

