Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Do you have something green to wear on March 17?  It’s St. Patrick’s Day and I crocheted a collection of shamrocks to share with friends and family.

I used random green yarn that I had on hand, some cotton, some acrylic, some wool. I used two yarns together on one of them.Then, after weaving in the ends I stitched on a pin back.

If you want to make one here are instructions for an easy one.  There are several ways to make these, some start with a few chains for the stem, others start with a three or four chain ring, and my favorite is an adjustable ring which is not quite the same as a Magic Ring. Both techniques close up the center hole that’s left when you start with the ring you make from a little chain.

I’ve always made a point to wear at least a bit of green because it’s fun and I don’t want to get pinched! Ireland has fascinated me since I was assigned to do a report on it in junior high school, and after some genealogical research and a DNA test I found I’m 18% Irish. No wonder I’m drawn to all things green on St. Patrick’s Day.

Here’s an Irish blessing from me to you.

May joy and peace surround you,
contentment latch your door,
and happiness be with you now
and bless you evermore!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Summertime Patriotic Wreath | Jan Made It
  2. Trackback: Summertime Stars and Stripes Wreath | Jan Made It
  3. Trackback: Which Witch is in the Wreath? | Jan Made It

Leave a Reply

