Not So Junky Jewelry

Saturday at the flea market I’d just finished hemming this coral jean skirt—it will be in my etsy shop, The Little Blue Trunk, later today—and I was making a flower out of the scraps. I wanted a button or bead to put in the center of it.

IMG_9102.JPG

I wandered over to a friend’s space. Larry frequently buys estate sale leftovers and I knew he had about four tables filled with jewelry. I was hoping he had an orphaned earring or broken necklace of the right color and I could finagle a couple of beads from him. He’s a nice guy like that.

When I told him what I was after he pulled the leftover jewelry from under the table. As you can see, it’s a tangled mess and he said he wasn’t going to fool with it anymore.

Box of Jewelry on JanMadeIt.wordpress.com

I didn’t see exactly what I was looking for but I wanted to prowl through it some more so I asked what he wanted for all of it.

He shrugged.

He’d already made over $100 on the jewelry he had out and there was plenty left. I wasn’t surprised. He had it priced at 50 cents for earrings and bracelets and $1 or $2 for necklaces. Such a bargain.

“What ‘dya give me for it?” he asked.

I said I only had $4. It was obviously worth more than that, but he was tired of sorting jewelry so I was delighted when he said, “Bring me the four dollars and it’s yours.”

I’m still untangling, but I will start taking pictures as soon as I publish this and plan to have a “Vintage Jewelry” section in my Little Blue Trunk by tomorrow.

It will be September before the Flea Market is back in business, but in the meantime, I’ll be busy sewing and sorting and listing and selling online.

Follow me on facebook, and favorite my etsy store, so you can see what I find.

What are you looking for?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly @ Eclectically Vintage
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 07:22:53

    Score of the century – have fun untangling!
    Kelly

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Sep 07, 2013 @ 21:16:21

      Kelly,
      It was fun! And now that it’s mostly untangled I have to figure out how to describe it so I can sell it. I don’t think “my grandma had one like this,” will show up very often in search engines.
      Jan

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

