Baby Bibs and Slippers ~ Recycling Denim Jeans

Here’s what I’ve been up to this week.

IMG_8706.JPG

I’ve been stitching up more of my Denim Jean Skirts  and of course my mind is wandering over all the ways I can use the leftover denim.

IMG_8707.JPG

I was sewing at the flea market a couple of weeks ago and someone came by and got all excited about these bibs she’d been making for friends.

IMG_8708.JPG

She was making the kerchief trimmed ones and said they are excellent “drool” bibs for teething toddlers. Then she came back the next week and brought me a sample and a template so I could sell them.

IMG_8710.JPG

 

After I made a couple with kerchiefs I spied a stash of eyelet trim and decided to use it to decorate a few in a different style.

IMG_8711.JPG

 

Then I was checking through pinterest looking at other uses for old jeans and came across some baby slippers, which I adapted with an elastic band around the heel.

IMG_8712.JPG

 

And then I added trim to match the bibs.

IMG_8713.JPG

Aren’t they cute?

I have them at my booth at the flea market at the Cleveland County Fairgrounds this weekend and I’ll add them to my etsy store next week.

Do you have an idea for a denim makeover? I’ve made small purses, a small tote, and lots of skirts. What’s your favorite?

 

Leave a Reply

