Fun Felt Toys

When I scrolled through my Pinterest pages a few days ago to find images of the button-down shirt pillows  for my last post, I came across several projects that caught my attention—again. I printed several of them, including these wool scrap pincushions from Better Homes and Gardens. And this one, also from BHG.

Then I rooted through my stash and found some hoarded felt and got busy.

Felt Toys and Pincushions on JanMadeIt

How’d I do?

Felt Toys and Pincushions on JanMadeIt

I started with the heart pincushions. I cut out a heart shape free-hand and then stacked it on a variety of colors and cut out more of them so I could mix and match in assembly.

Felt Toys and Pincushions on JanMadeIt

While I was cutting—I tend to do things assembly-line-style—I also cut out a couple of daisy-type flowers, two different sizes, and a tulip.

I assembled the hearts first and used a simple blanket stitch around the edge. As the tiny pillow neared completion I stuffed in little bits of fiber fill. I tacked a small circle of felt on a larger circle of felt for the flower. Then I snipped notches in the larger circle to make the petals and attached the little flower to the heart.

Felt Toys and Pincushions on JanMadeIt

For the daisies, I found out I have to stuff the petals as I go, and next time I won’t make the base of the petal so skinny.

As suggested in the BHG pins, I attached a ribbon to the center back of each of the hearts and flowers. They suggest tying one to the handle of a sewing basket. I also suggest they can be tied to the arm of your sewing machine, or for hand-work, you can tie it around your wrist.

Felt Toys and Pincushions on JanMadeIt

After the original shapes were complete, my imagination was running pretty rampant and I made a block which will be a dandy toy for a tot. I started with flowers on two of the sides, then a butterfly seemed appropriate for the garden-theme.

Felt Toys on JanMadeIt

A caterpillar inches along a little branch. It’s one of those camo caterpillars with a fake eye at the tail end so predators can’t tell if they’re coming or going.

Felt Toys on JanMadeIt

A friend is a fan of frogs, so I came up with this guy for another panel. I was very pleased that everyone recognized it as a frog.

Felt Toys on JanMadeIt

And on one of the pictures above you can see I put a little blue bird on the last panel.

I wanted a ladybug on one panel, but I was manning my booth at the flea market and I didn’t have any black felt with me. But lo and behold, I came across a box full of scraps, some already cut into quilt pieces and there was a small stack of felt, including black, in the mix so now I could make my ladybug. I just love her. Felt Toys and Pincushions on JanMadeIt

If you’re handy with a needle, you can easily craft your own and show friends or family how to do it. However, if you’re someone who doesn’t even know which end of the needle to thread I can turn this into a tutorial that will show you how. Just ask.

I have one more week at the flea market and then I’ll put these on etsy. Or maybe I’ll put a kit on etsy and you can sew your own. If that’s something you’d like, let me know and I can certainly put them together for you.

Easy Peasy.

If you want to keep up with my next project, follow me. And “like” my Jan Made It facebook page while you’re at it.

I’ve shared this post on:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. danandmariel
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 22:36:58

    So fun! I would love for you to share this or any of your great ideas at the link party going on now (and every Saturday through Tuesday) at ‘Or so she says …’ Hope to see you there! http://www.oneshetwoshe.com

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Feb 11, 2013 @ 23:08:43

      Thanks for the invitation! I made this week’s party with less than 24 hours to go and added your link to the bottom of the post. I’ll grab a button and make a note to come link again on Saturday.
      Jan

      Like

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Meet Miss Daisy…She’s Patiently Waiting For Her Clothes! |

Leave a Reply

