Antique Chair Makeover

Who likes stripes?

A Striped Chair on JanMadeIt

This very old chair somehow made its way into my life.

A Striped Chair on JanMadeIt

For the life of me I can’t remember how I acquired it, but it was a mess.

Antique Chair Makeover on JanMadeIt

The seat is made up of about four slats assembled tongue-in-groove style.

Antique Chair Makeover on JanMadeIt

Many years ago it started coming apart and someone tried to keep it together with over three dozen nails, two wood scraps. two strips of iron and over a dozen screws.  Antique Chair Makeover on JanMadeIt

But the repairs were done so long ago the slats were dry and separated again. While it wasn’t going to collapse, it was not safe for wearers of shorts.


Antique Chair Makeover on JanMadeIt

It was so dry, in fact, that after I got it back together—without the extra five dozen or so screws and nails—I wiped it down with a generous coat of oil.

A Striped Chair on JanMadeIt

Then a few days later I painted it.

A Striped Chair on JanMadeIt

The wood was still dry. Kind of scuffed and rough. It would look best distressed but what color?

A Striped Chair on JanMadeIt

I decided on all-of-the-above.

A Striped Chair on JanMadeIt

I figured I can always paint it over in one color if this doesn’t work.

A Striped Chair on JanMadeIt

But I like it. If I can find a little desk or small table it might become part of a set if it hangs around very long.

A Striped Chair on JanMadeIt

If it was yours to paint, what color would you choose?

Leave a Reply

