Crushed Velvet Headbands From Fabric Scraps

After I finished updating a lampshade (I’ll post about that soon) I had leftover strips of dark red crushed velvet and this is what I did with that little pile of scraps.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

I’ve been snagging plastic headbands for pennies apiece at garage sales over the past year and finally upcycled a few of them. The dark red with creamy white buttons and beads will fun to wear as the holidays approach.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

To make one of these you’ll need

  • A plastic headband, any shape.
  • Torn fabric strips, about an inch wide.
  • Buttons, beads or baubles.
  • Thread. I used cotton pearl embroidery thread #5. The shiny finish will slide through the fabric with few knots and it’s heavy enough you won’t have to worry about broken threads.

Note: Tearing the fabric into strips makes a neater edge than cutting it. After you pull out a few threads on each side there will be a small tidy fringe that won’t be shedding strings all over the place.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

I wrapped the fabric around the starting “tail” to hide it. I continued wrapping on a slight diagonal to the other end of the headband where I hand-stitched the loose ends to finish it off. After you wrap the headband and make your flower, try it on to position the flower. A small single item looks best on the side. You might want it at the part in your hair, or maybe down further to sit above your ear.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

To make the flowers and other doo-dahs, I basted a line of stitching down the center or along the edge of the fabric. At the ends, fold the raw edge back to create a point. When you attach it to the headband you can use these points as part of the design or tack them out of sight.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

After basting about an inch, pull the thread to gather it up and made a little back-stitch (not shown) to secure it. A center stitching line will make a caterpillar shape, or stitch along the edge to make a flower.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

To make this little gizmo, I stitched down the center of a strip about 12 inches long. When it was gathered from end to end it was about five inches long. I tacked it to the headband creating little “S” curves along the way compressing it down to about three inches. Then I embellished it with groups of glass beads to make it look like a cluster of small flowers.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

I made this little flower by stitching along the edge of the fabric. As the fabric gathers on one side it naturally turns into a circle and it’s easy to tack it into place. I used a single layer and topped it with a 60s era earring. I only had one, so I removed the earring back and stitched it into place.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

I used a broken necklace with Wilma Flintstone irregular shaped pearly beads for another.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

More glass beads decorate another scrunched up caterpillar shape.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

When I made a poufy flower with several layers I used a simple vintage button.

Crushed Velvet Headbands on JanMadeIt

You can make these out of any fabric, but the crushed velvet was very forgiving and easy to work with. The crumpled surface and exact color match with the thread makes the stitches disappear. If you don’t have any crushed velvet on hand, it’s not expensive and you’ll only need a few inches. Find a remnant if you can.

After you get started, you’ll come up with all sorts of things you can use to make a headband special.

What do you think? What are your ideas for something special?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dj
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 20:51:42

    These are great, Would Make beautiful Brides Naid hats with a little toule added on as a veil.

    Like

    Reply

  2. djdidit
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 21:34:40

    Great job!!!  DJ

    >________________________________ > From: Jan Made It >To: redfishdj@sbcglobal.net >Sent: Sunday, October 14, 2012 8:35 PM >Subject: [New post] Crushed Velvet Headbands From Fabric Scraps > > WordPress.com >Jan posted: “After I finished updating a lampshade (I’ll post about that soon) I had leftover strips of dark red crushed velvet and this is what I did with that little pile of scraps. I’ve been snagging plastic headbands for pennies apiece at garage sales over ” >

    Like

    Reply

  3. Randi
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 20:02:02

    Very cute & clever, well-designed. That’s a great idea of DJ’s, to add tulle and other fabrics for bridal parties, too. Good work, Jan.

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 10:22:47

      Thanks Randi! I think I have a roll of dark red tulle, I’m fascinated with facinators… so I’ll see what I can come up with. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Rescued Lamp, Woven Lampshade « Jan Made It

Leave a Reply

