Fit to Be Tied ~ Vintage Child’s Rocking Chair

 

I love kid’s chairs and when my friend Dianna gave me a cute little rocker to make over I couldn’t resist.

It’s a very old, and was handmade, which I love.

It had three or four loose joints and the woven seat was crumbling and had to go. I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it.

Fit to Be Tied Chair Seat on JanMadeIt

Years ago I used neck ties to weave a seat on a cane rush chair that lost its cane. But since ties are cut on the bias, and they stretch, it wasn’t long before I felt like I was sitting in a box. I knew exactly how to fix it for this project.

Fit to Be Tied Chair Seat on JanMadeIt

I used a sturdy piece of canvas as a base for the ties. I used the skinny ends of the ties for this little chair, and lined up all the points to hang off the front of the chair.

Fit to Be Tied Chair Seat on JanMadeIt

I secured the first layer of ties along the top, which will be at the back of the chair, and then zigzagged it to secure stray threads.

Fit to Be Tied Chair Seat on JanMadeIt

Then I started weaving the other direction. I used lots of pins to keep everything on the straight and narrow.

Fit to Be Tied Chair Seat on JanMadeIt

After securing all the sides I stapled it to the freshly painted and tightly glued rocker.

Fit to Be Tied Chair Seat on JanMadeIt

Voila!

This technique might still be a little squishy for an adult chair, but it will hold little tushies just fine.

If you want a more detailed tutorial, let me know. I’ve also figured out how to make a pillow top with this technique. Can’t wait to try that out.

Thanks for reading!

Jan

 

 

Leave a Reply

