Rescued Art-Deco-ish Side Table Shelf

I rescued this little shelf last summer. It was ugly white paint, so thick it peeled off like contact paper. It was poorly configured and had no feet so it was hard to tell which way was up.

Art-Deco-ish Red Shelf
But I loved the art-deco-ish scallops and the fact that it was obviously hand-made.

Art-Deco-ish Red Shelf - Before
I added feet and moved one set of scallops to the back.

Art-Deco-ish Red Shelf - Before
The solid heavy wood was stained a very dark brown and even after a couple of coats of red paint the brown continued to show through. But the dark aged look was perfect.

Art-Deco-ish Red Shelf


I imagine it’s one-of-a-kind, but if I come across something similar I’ll certainly snap it up.

I know a lot of people buy things and immediately  paint them a different color, but the person who bought this also bought a dark red floor lamp, so I think it’ll stay like this for a while.

What do you think? Would you want it a different color? Where would you put it and how would you use it?

Leave a Reply

