A Pretty Purple Cradle

I snapped up an ugly green cradle at the Salvation Army a few months ago. It was already in a “distressed” condition, the rockers were wobbly, the bottom wasn’t attached… it needed help. I took it to the flea market and filled it with stuffed animals. The stuffed animals sold, but no one noticed the cradle so I brought it home.

I’m on a tear to get all the projects out of my house and that cradle was an easy fix. With mild sunny weather in the forecast I got busy. First I secured the rockers with long wood screws next to the nails that had loosened through the years. Then I added lots of little nails to reattach the bottom of the cradle to the sides. Then with an all-over sanding I took it to the backyard for several thin coats of French Lilac, American Accents by Rustoleum.

Purple Cradle and Bedding

On Day two I turned it over and gave the rockers and the bottom a once-over. Then I made the bedding.

No Slip Pad

First I cut a piece of no-slip cabinet liner to fit the bottom. This will keep the mattress in place.

Cradle Mattress

I made the cradle mattress with 1/2-inch foam sewn between two pieces of quilted fabric with light batting. Then I made a sheet in the style of a pillow sham. It’s easy to take it off to wash, and both pieces can be tossed in the washing machine if necessary.

Cradle and Mattress

I had that calico print in my stash and just LOVE the way it works with this!

Next it needs a pillow. So I go to my pile of rescued pillows and find an 80s era moire ruffled number that’s just the right size.

Moire Pillow

It’s the right size, but wrong fabric, wrong color, and who needs that ruffle in a bed? So I cut it off.

Pillow minus ruffle

With small scissors, I carefully cut at the top of the ruffle and left the pillow intact. I made a pillow case a little smaller than the pillow. I wanted it more rectangle than square, and I wanted it puffier.

Moire Pillow becomes Cradle Pillow

The slick fabric was very easy to stuff inside.

Cradle Pillow

How cute is that?

Cradle Pillow

Awwwww!

Cradle and Blanket

How about this Fleece and Flannel blanket to top it off?

Fleece and Flannel Baby Doll Blanket

The bright paisley fleece was only as wide as the cradle, and I wanted it a little wider… you know, to give the baby room to wiggle around under the covers. I found a remnant of purple flannel that was perfect for a blanket edge. The finished blanket turned out to be about 21 x 16. By the way, the cradle is about 24 x 12.

What do you think? Know a little girl who would like this custom number for her babies?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: More Cradles, Cute Tables and a Gorgeous Desk « Jan Made It
  2. Tera Carr
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 16:47:22

    is this still available?

    Like

    Reply

    • Jan
      Feb 05, 2012 @ 15:39:22

      Yes it’s still available. I’ve had a lot of lookers but no takers yet. It’s on display at the fairgrounds for one more weekend and I would love for it to find another place to live after that.
      Let me know if you’re interested and we’ll email and figure out the details.
      Jan

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

